Flexi-cheeze

I’ve only recently begun experimenting with different vegan cheese (or cheeze if you like). My all time favourite that I’ve made has been this amazing cashew cheese that so far I’ve had as a macaroni cheese sauce, pizza topping and AMAZING cheese bites – all from the same recipe! 

So all you need is 

  • 1/4 cup of soaked cashews 
  • 2 cups of hot water 
  • 5 tbsp plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 clove chopped garlic

Directions..

  1. Whack it all into a blender for a minute or two. The first time I tried it I only blended it for about 20 seconds and it was and bit too lumpy. Worked well as cheese bites but wouldn’t work for a sauce. Also, if you are making sauce this is the ONLY instruction so make sure you  use water straight from the kettle so it’s hot enough! For the cheese sauce just pour it over your food and you’re done. For anything else continue to step 2!Pasta with cheese sauce straight from the blender!
  2. Transfer the sauce into a saucepan and pop it on a medium heat and stir a lot! You will quickly see the sauce start to thicken and if you don’t stir it will burn. I usually keep it on the hob for about 20 minutes, by then it gets really thick and a little bit stringy (not like dairy cheese stringy but stringy nonetheless).
  3. Once you deem it thick enough stick it in a container and leave it for a while. It will go a little bit hard on the outside where it’s exposed to air but that’s fine. You now have your pizza cheese! It might even work in a sandwich or toastie but I haven’t tried that yet, let me know how you use it! 
  4. For the cheesy bites (rapidly becoming my new favourite food!) chop the cheese into strips and fry. I’ve fried with oil and vegan butter (Flora dairy free) but haven’t tried it dry fried yet. Fry on each side until brown and then dry with a kitchen towel and enjoy! If they aren’t crispy on the outside and gooey on the inside you’ve done something wrong! 
Cheesy bites!
2 thoughts on “Flexi-cheeze

  1. Holy moly–those cheese bites. Thomas and I ate fried cheese as a starter on our first date (back before we were vegan) and i would love to make this for him as a treat. I love cashew cheese and this is a an affordable recipe–some recipes call for like 2 cups of cashews and that is out of my budget. Have you ever tried Engevita nutritional yeast? (terrible name, lovely stuff\) it adds an even cheesier taste to cheese like this.You cn make a lush parmesan cheese from it too. Will have to have a go on Sunday trying to make this. Oh, and you can soften your cashews in boiling water for 20 minutes so they break up a bit better in the blender. Cheers!

    Like

    1. I have nooch in everything! I actually tried it with this recipe last time I made it and it was nice, not sure if I pit enough in. Thanks for the tip with the boiling water, I’ve been just soaking them and it takes hours. I’m going to try this recipe with breadcrumbs on at some point too. They’re really delicious on their own,though it’s best to eat them straight away they go a bit soggy if you leave them overnight after being fried.

      Like

Leave a Reply

